Consultancy

The Belgian legislation is characterised as prescriptive or normative. This implies that the required fire resistance classification of building elements is prescribed in the legislation and that this classification has to be demonstrated either through CE marking or through a European classification report if there is no CE marking available for the building product in question. A document (Dutch or French version), approved by the High Council for Prevention against Fire and Explosions, provides more explanation regarding the different methods stated in the Royal Decree of 7 July 1994 to demonstrate that a building product satisfies its prescriptions.

The Consultancy department has two main activities:

  • If a classification for a building element has to be demonstrated that is not covered by DIAP or EXAP, the department Assessments can investigate the equivalence of performance in accordance with the Royal Decree of 12/07/2012 (Belgian Official Gazette of 21/09/2012). This investigation, mainly focussed on passive fire protection, is carried out by the Assessments department.
  • If a building cannot comply with the legal obligations due to its characteristics (construction, materials used, …), you can draw on the Fire Safety Engineering department to examine if an equivalent degree of protection may be obtained. The results of this examination will form the basis of a derogation file that has to be approved by the Equivalence and Derogation Commission of the FPS Home Affairs.

Given the tendency of legislation to become more complexe and comprehensive, it is recommended to involve these departments from the start of the project.

consultancy

ISIB - Ottergemsesteenweg-Zuid 711 - B-9000 Gent - T + 32 (0)9 240 10 80 - F +32 (0)9 240 10 85 - www.isibfire.be - infoNL@isibfire.be
ISIB - Rue Belvaux 87 - B-4030 Liège - T + 32 (0)4 340 42 70 - F +32 (0)4 340 42 79 - www.isibfire.be - infoFR@isibfire.be


All rights reserved © 2014 | ISIB vzw - Powered by communicatielab.be

Consultancy

La législation belge se caractérise comme prescriptive ou normative. Ceci implique que le classement de résistance au feu d’éléments de constructions exigé est prescrit dans la législation et que ce classement doit être démontré soit par un marquage CE soit par un rapport de classement européen si le marquage CE n’existe pas pour le produit en question. Un document, approuvé par le Conseil Supérieur de la Sécurité contre l’Incendie et l’Explosion, éclaircit les différents méthodes stipulés dans l’Arrêté Royal du 7 juillet 1994 pour démontrer qu’un élément de construction satisfait à ses prescriptions.

Le département Consultancy se concentre sur deux activités principaux :

  • Si un classement doit être démontré pour un élément de construction qui n’est pas couvert par DIAP ou EXAP, le département Avis Techniques peut examiner l’équivalence de comportement selon l’Arrêté Royal du 12/07/2012 (Moniteur Belge du 21/09/2012). Cet examen, qui se concentre partout sur la protection incendie passive, est effectué par le département Avis Techniques.
  • Si un bâtiment ne peut pas satisfaire aux obligations légales à cause de ses caractéristiques (constructions, matériaux utilisés, …) on peut faire appel au département Fire Safety Engineering pour examiner si un degré de protection équivalent peut être obtenu. Les résultats de cet examen servent comme base pour un dossier de dérogation qui doit être approuvé par la Commission d’Équivalence et de Dérogation du SPF Intérieur.

Étant donné l’évolution vers une législation de plus en plus complexe et étendue, il est recommandé de faire participer ces départements déjà lors de l’ébauche du projet.

consultancy

ISIB - Ottergemsesteenweg-Zuid 711 - B-9000 Gent - T + 32 (0)9 240 10 80 - F +32 (0)9 240 10 85 - www.isibfire.be - infoNL@isibfire.be
ISIB - Rue Belvaux 87 - B-4030 Liège - T + 32 (0)4 340 42 70 - F +32 (0)4 340 42 79 - www.isibfire.be - infoFR@isibfire.be


All rights reserved © 2014 | ISIB vzw - Powered by communicatielab.be

Pas de login ? Appelez-nous au 09 240 10 80