Fire Safety Engineering

If a building cannot comply with the legal obligations due to its characteristics (constructions, materials used, …), you can draw on the Fire Safety Engineering department to examine if an equivalent degree of protection may be obtained. Fire Safety Engineering uses Computional Fluid Dynamics (CFD) programs to examine e.g. the behaviour of fire and the smoke spread. By means of simulations realistic fire scenarios are checked against the characteristics typical for the building.

The Fire Safety Engineering department can therefore be contacted in the following situations:

  • Evaluating the stability of the supporting construction in case of fire and guaranteeing the public’s safety. Both the passive fire protection (fire resistance of a building element and reaction to fire of a building product) and the active fire protection (detection, automatic extinction and smoke extraction) (if applicable) are taken into account fort his evaluation.
  • Preparing the derogation file to be presented to the Equivalence and Derogation Commission of the FPS Home Affairs in order to obtain a derogation of the normative legislation.
  • Perform Peer reviews of Performance Based Design reports as an independent third party.

The above-mentioned situations are only a limited presentation of the role Fire Safety Engineering can play in the complete building process. Every building has its specific charactericts and can thus require a different approach. It is therefore recommended to contact us for a personal approach of the construction method.

Furthermore, ISIB is member of Firepronet vzw, the Fire Safety Engineering alumni and student association of University Gent.

fotobijFireSafetyEngineering

ISIB - Ottergemsesteenweg-Zuid 711 - B-9000 Gent - T + 32 (0)9 240 10 80 - F +32 (0)9 240 10 85 - www.isibfire.be - infoNL@isibfire.be
ISIB - Rue Belvaux 87 - B-4030 Liège - T + 32 (0)4 340 42 70 - F +32 (0)4 340 42 79 - www.isibfire.be - infoFR@isibfire.be


All rights reserved © 2014 | ISIB vzw - Powered by communicatielab.be

Fire Safety Engineering

Si un bâtiment ne peut pas satisfaire aux obligations légales à cause de ses caractéristiques (constructions, matériaux utilisés, …) on peut faire appel au département Fire Safety Engineering pour examiner si un degré de protection équivalent peut être obtenu. Fire Safety Engineering utilise des logiciels Computional Fluid Dynamics (CFD) pour examiner e.a. le déroulement d’incendie et la propagation des fumées. À l’aide de simulations, des scénarios incendie réalistes sont appréciés aux caractéristiques spécifiques du bâtiment.

On peut donc faire appel au département Fire Safety Engineering dans les cas suivants :

  • Évaluer la stabilité de la construction porteuse dans le cas d’incendie et garantir la sécurité du publique. Lors de cette évaluation, la protection incendie passive (résistance au feu de l’élément de construction et réaction au feu du produit de construction) ainsi que la protection incendie active (si d’application) (détection, extinction automatique et évacuation de fumées) sont examinés.
  • Préparer un dossier qui doit être soumis à la Commission d’Équivalence et de Dérogation du SPF Intérieur afin d’obtenir une dérogation de la législation normative.
  • Effectuer le peer review de rapports Performance Based Design comme tierce partie indépendante

Les cas mentionnés ne sont qu’une présentation limitée du rôle de Fire Safety Engineering dans le procès de construction. Chaque bâtiment a ses caractéristiques spécifiques et peut donc exiger une approche différente. Il est donc recommandé de nous contacter pour un suivi personnalisé de la construction immobilière.

ISIB est un plus membre de Firepronet vzw, l’association d’alumni et d’étudiants de Fire Safety Engineering de l’Université de Gand.

fotobijFireSafetyEngineering

ISIB - Ottergemsesteenweg-Zuid 711 - B-9000 Gent - T + 32 (0)9 240 10 80 - F +32 (0)9 240 10 85 - www.isibfire.be - infoNL@isibfire.be
ISIB - Rue Belvaux 87 - B-4030 Liège - T + 32 (0)4 340 42 70 - F +32 (0)4 340 42 79 - www.isibfire.be - infoFR@isibfire.be


All rights reserved © 2014 | ISIB vzw - Powered by communicatielab.be

Pas de login ? Appelez-nous au 09 240 10 80